For some reason, people continue to drink and get behind the wheel of their cars. Even if you think you are sober enough to drive, after 1 drink you can become impaired. In Colorado, at least 77 impaired drivers are caught daily by the police. Because it is such a dangerous issue, the independent agents in Littleton, CO at Front Range Insurance Services would like you to know the rules before you drink and drive.
The Colorado DUI Law
The Colorado DUI Law stipulates that if you are convicted of a DUI for the fourth time, it will be considered a felony. First-time offenders receive a misdemeanor, but repeated offenders could be labeled habitual traffic offenders and have their license revoked permanently.
The Penalties for Impaired Driving
When you are caught driving while intoxicated, you can suffer criminal penalties as well as administrative and financial obligations. Depending on whether it is your first or fourth offense, you could spend 2 days in jail to up to 6 years in prison. The administrative penalties start with your license being suspended for 9-12 months. There are also fines to consider. You may be saddled with tremendous court fees that could reach up to $1500.
Of course, fines and a short jail sentence is just the tip of the iceberg if your carelessness results in an accident where another person is injured or killed.
What You Can Do
- Before you decide to drive after a night of drinking, you should call a cab or use a service app that will drive you home at night.
- Take turns having a designated driver for the evening.
- Stay at a nearby hotel where you can walk to from the bar or club.
In Littleton, CO, Front Range Insurance Services wants to help keep you and others safe on the road. Visit or call our offices if you want to establish a new auto insurance policy or adjust your current one.